top of page

Thank you for subscribing! You will receive an email when there are new posts on the Section on Statistics + Data Science Education blog.

  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Meet a Member: Amy Hogan

Updated: Apr 8, 2021


Meet Amy Hogan, a teacher at Brooklyn Technical High School in NYC and one of the section's current HS & TYC Fellows!


What is your alma mater?


I was a mathematics undergraduate major at Smith College, where I first discovered a deep appreciation for statistics.




How did you choose statistics for your profession?

I became an actuarial analyst after undergraduate college but transitioned to teaching several years later. I love being able to use math and statistics to help understand the world and I love even more sharing that with my high school students.



What statistics class(es) are you currently teaching? What statistics classes do you enjoy teaching the most?


I teach AP Statistics. I enjoy teaching an introductory high school statistics class like this because it helps build a foundation for good statistical thinking my students can use in college and beyond.



What is your favorite data set / go-to source for data?




What is your fellowship project?


My ASA fellowship project is to curate a list of social justice resources for statistics educators.


Are you on social media?


You can find me on Twitter at @alittlestats.


 

If you have a section member you'd like to nominate for an upcoming Meet a Member profile, please email Maria Tackett.

237 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page