top of page

Thank you for subscribing! You will receive an email when there are new posts on the Section on Statistics + Data Science Education blog.

  • Writer's pictureAdmin

Meet a Member: Megan Mocko


Megan Mocko in a red long-sleeved shirt with long, wavy, blonde hair.

Megan Mocko is a lecturer at the Warrington College of Business. She teaches statistics to undergraduate and graduate students. Megan has taught statistics in multiple formats: face-to-face, hybrid, and completely online. In the Fall of 2022, she began her doctoral journey in the Ed.D. program for Curriculum and Instruction with an emphasis on Educational Technology at the UF College of Education. Her area of specialization is learning analytics. She is interested in engaging everyone in the classroom using educational technology, learning analytics, and using virtual exchanges to promote communication about data across international boundaries.



Why did you decide to go into Statistics/Statistics Education?


I played school all the time as a young child. I had a little Chalkboard and old textbooks, so working in education was always a part of the picture. However, it took a while to figure out what the subject area was going to be. After taking my first statistics course, I was hooked. I loved the investigative nature of the field!


What's a class/workshop at your workplace/university that you wish you could take and why?


I wish that I had been able to take a seminar course in theatre offered through the South Carolina Honors College. The course read a play a week and then went to New York City to see some of the plays at the end of the semester. The course filled up quickly, but I managed to get a seat my senior year. However, after my graduation review, I found out that I need one more mathematics class elective, so I had to drop the course.  


What Statistics Topic do you think is the most difficult to teach well?


I think that sampling distributions are very hard for students to understand. It takes a lot of class time for students to really understand the topic and then they quickly forget some of the important components. 


What advice would you give to someone who is new to teaching statistics? 


I would recommend taking some time to look at the resources available online through CAUSE, STEW or written about in JSDSE. These resources can give you a head start in preparing for class and you don't have to reinvent the wheel. I would also highly recommend attending USCOTS and eCOTS. This will give you a great opportunity to interact with colleagues in the field and you will hear about plenty of ideas.


What is your go-to source for data?


One of my favorite go-to is the world bank data website. There are many interesting variables, and it allows students to explore data from other countries besides the US. 


What statistics class(es) are you currently teaching? What statistics classes do you enjoy teaching the most? 


I am teaching a large enrollment second course in statistics for undergraduates, and several service courses for graduate students at the introductory and intermediate level. My favorite course varies from time to time. In general, I prefer teaching conceptual thinking and the investigative cycle. 


What do you enjoy doing when you’re not working? 


I have four cats, so I enjoy playing with them and I enjoy traveling. I have been to six continents and 37 countries so far. I am hoping to add to that list!

40 views0 comments
bottom of page